April 19, 2008

A Day to Remember

Posted in Just Because, Weekend Sketch at 6:24 pm by happygiggles

This is what I woke up to today.  About three inches of snow!  The reason why I took this picture is because I honestly don’t remember it ever snowing in April!  Just doesn’t happen here!  Thankfully it’s pretty much gone now!

While this crazy weather system was going through, I managed to make a card.  Actually, a couple, but I’m not so sure I want to show you the other one!  I really don’t like it!  I think I’ll end up taking it apart.  Anyways, I’ll show you the one I do like.  It’s for Beate’s Weekend sketch.

The colours in this one make me happy.  Along with the flowers!  I’m thinking that I should really stick with simple because those end up being some of my favorite cards!  For this card I started with a base of Very Vanilla then added the Barely Banana layers (which my husband helped with! 🙂 )  Next came the patterned flower pieces.  Finally, I stamped the flowers from Simply Said in Versamark then embossed them in silver powder.  I really like the silver, that’s why I added the silver brads to try and tie it all in!  The simply said flowers are stamped on Soft sky layered over top Blue Bayou!  The ribbon is also there to hide a bit of a gap I had.

Recipe: 

Stamps: Simply Said
Paper: Very Vanilla, Barely Banana, Blue Bayou, Soft Sky, patterned paper from Michael’s
Ink: Versamark
Accessories: silver brads, soft sky ribbon, silver embossing powder, cuttlebug

 

5 Comments »

  1. Beate said,

    Lovely card! I am sorry you had snow. We finally had a gorgeous warm day and I layed out! LOL
    Hugs and smiles

  2. Godelieve said,

    Love the blocks, textures, colors on your card! Very pretty!

  3. Lindsay said,

    Great card!! and no worries about the snow, we got the same thing here!!!

  4. KristineMB said,

    Very nice card! And hopefully the snow will diseappear very soon! Take a look at my blog to see pictures of the lovely weather we had in Norway this weekend!
    Kristine=)

  5. Jillian said,

    You do a beautiful job.

    I was wondering if you would be interested in maing a few cards for me? I’m looking to put them into a scrapbook and writing a little message into the cards for my kids.

    Now I just need to find someone who knows how to make homemade scrapbooks so that I can just put in the picture. It’s sad, I know.. I just don’t have the time to do it all… 😦

    Jillian


Leave a Reply

