March 30, 2008

Inspired Sketch

Posted in Challenges, Just Because at 4:13 pm by happygiggles

This card is a combination of the inspiration challenge at Splitcoast and Beate’s Weekend Sketch!  This week for the inspiration challenge we were to find inspiration from anything in our own home.  I chose this picture:

I just love the yellows and the reds.  My two favorite colours in my home!  For the card, I knew I had to make a piece of red paper the focal point since that’s what my eyes are drawn to first in the picture.  I tried to incorporate the sky and the yellow sand in the pieces behind the red paper.  I used the background stamp from Oh, So Lovely and some clear embossing powder to try and give the effect of rain. (water anyways!)  I decided to use the flower from Delight in life with some black embossing powder on the red focal point.  All the layers underneath are meant to be the frame.

Recipe: 

Stamps: Delight in Life, Oh, So Lovely
Paper: Basic Black, real red, Sahara Sand, Very Vanilla, Barely Banana
Ink: Versamark
Accessories: dew drops, black eyelets, clear and black embossing powder, corner rounder

7 Comments »

  1. Kisa said,

    Great card! I love the boldness of the colors!

  2. Michelle said,

    Hi Taya,

    Love that picture and really love your card! I’m addicted to the dew drops too! Don’t they make everything look so much better?!!

  3. Beate said,

    Great card! Very striking color combo!
    Hugs and smlies

  4. Danyelle said,

    Very striking card. I love your inspiration piece too!

  5. Godelieve said,

    Lovely design, gorgeous color combo!

  6. Nardi said,

    Really love the effect of your card. TFS!

  7. Jen said,

    Great job of pulling those colors from the painting! Lovely card!


Leave a Reply

