March 13, 2008

Only Patterns Allowed!

Posted in Challenges, It's your Birthday at 1:29 pm by happygiggles

This was such a fun challenge!  (challenge WT157 at Splitcoast) I thought it was going to be difficult for me but I already have another one planned!  The challenge was to use only patterned paper, except for the actual card base.  I kinda cheated a little bit…I added a bit of orange and black cardstock.  But hey, they have texture, that’s a pattern isn’t it?  🙂  Anyways, I found the flower papers in my stash so I thought I’d use them!  The grayish pattern paper is from my Costco slab.  Love that paper! 

I have also been stopping by Julee Tilman’s blog Poetic Artistry and loved her Mojo Monday sketch challenge #27 .  I thought that this layout would go well with the Oh, So Lovely stamp set.  I embossed the flowers with black embossing powder.  I think I’m addicted to that color!  Then I colored them in using a bit of green, deep red, orange brown chalk.  The brown I used around the edges to age the look a bit.  For a final touch I added a bit of bling with the flower rhinestone.  The birthday sentiment is also raised up with foam tape. 

Recipe: 

Stamps: Oh, So lovely, birthday sentiment from Stamping Bella
Paper: Flower papers are Daisy D’s, gray pattern from a Costco Slab, a bit of orange and black Bazzill
Ink: Versamark
Accessories: flower rhinestone, black embossing powder, chalk (for the stamped flowers)

2 Comments »

  1. Great article.
    Highly recommend this blog it is tops.
    It is early morning here in Aussie and I’m hungover from the Flu so will make further comment when I feel a little better up to it.

  2. […] Isn’t he cute?  I’m sure it’s a he.  He just looks like one!  I did this card for Jen’s sketch challenge of i{heart}2stamp.  I really liked the sketch so I wanted to give it a try!  I had wanted to use this combination of papers for one of the challenges last week on Splitcoast, but ended up doing something different.  […]


Leave a Reply

