March 11, 2008

Faux Cloisonne’

Posted in Challenges, It's your Birthday at 8:49 pm by happygiggles

Yesterday’s technique challenge at Splitcoast was something I had never heard of.  Faux Cloisonne’.  It was started in Beijing and is their technique to create derorative objects using bronze and porcelain.  Check out this website for more information! 

To do the faux cloisonne’, you need a magazine page with a glossy image, an outline stamp, versamark, and gold embossing powder.  I went through a gardening magazine I had until I found a page with a maple tree in the fall.  I liked the yellow.  Next I used a flower fron Delight in life, stamped it in versamark, then embossed three with the gold embossing powder.  I liked how the edges curled up due to the thinness of the magazine paper, so that’s how I stuck them on!

The card is just some brown cardstock with some rust colored designer paper over top.  I added two strips of brown satin ribbon the the bottom then added the birthday sentiment!  I wish that I had put another layer of cardstock underneath the flowers because I think it’s just lacking something!  I’ll just have to try this fun technique again!

Recipe:

Stamps:  DElight in Life, not sure where the birthday sentiment is from!  
Paper: Brown Bazzill, rust red designer paper, brown bazzill bling, magazine, whisper white
Ink: Versamark. chocolate chip
Accessories: bronze brads, gold embossing powder, brown satin ribbon, corner rounder

 

3 Comments »

  1. […] R here […]

  2. Heidi said,

    I like this technique. maybe I will give it a try this weekend.
    Heidi

  3. Nardi said,

    This looks lovely – really like the colours. TFS!


Leave a Reply

