March 9, 2008

Simple Simon

Posted in Just Because, Simple at 10:14 am by happygiggles

I think I’m starting to find my niche in card making.  I am starting to lean towards the clean and simple end of things.  With a bit of bling, sometimes a lot.  I love card bling!  Oh, I also love patterned paper. 

I recently made two cards the other day that are, I believe, the very definition of clean and simple.  And quick and easy!  I actually gathered my inspiration for this first card from Stampin Di on Splitcoast.  I cased this card:  http://www.splitcoaststampers.com/gallery/photo/838424  Isn’t it cute?  I love how simple it is!

Here’s my version:

 

I used my new set, A Beautiful thing to create the layered flower using Wild Wasabi, Purely pomegranate, and a piece of yellow I had.  Each layer is stamped with Versamark then heat embossed in clear powder to create a shiny effect.  In the middle I stuck a crystal rhinestone brad.  The stem is stamped using the stem from Best Blossoms.  I messed up when I was putting the glue down for the sparkles, so I created a leaf!  I actually like it better with the leaf.   The green strip is simply a scrap of Wild Wasabi that I took some Fiskar scalloped scissors to.   The Hello saying is from my Doodle Wings by Stampendous set.

Here’s my other simple card:

This card uses one of my all time favorite sets, Simply Said.  I used my water color pencils to color in the flowers, than added a dab of Stickles to each center.  Again, the green is a scrap.

Recipes:

1st card:
Stamps: A Beautiful Thing, Best Blossoms
Paper: Whisper white, purely pomegranate, wild wasabi, a scrap of yellow
Ink: Versamark, Versamagic (Spanish olive for the stem), chocolate chip
Accessories: clear embossing powder, SU! glitter, Tombow glue, Fiskars scalloped scissors, crystal brad

2nd Card:
Stamps: Simply Said
Paper: Whisper white, wild wasabi
Ink: chocolate chip
Accessories: Stickles, water color pencils, blender pen, scalloped scissors

2 Comments »

  1. tammy said,

    that is such a cute card.

  2. I love the simplicity of these cards.


Leave a Reply

