March 6, 2008

Have a Sparkly Birthday

Posted in It's your Birthday at 11:08 am by happygiggles

 

This was a fun card to do!  Again, it was for the sketch challenge over at Splitcoast yesterday.  My inspiration for the colors came out of the blue sparkly designer paper I picked up at Michael’s this week.  I decided to pull out the Wild Wasabi and Purely pomegranate  for the main colors.  On the green strip I stamped the background with a stamp from Delight in Life in Versamark.  As well, I stamped the birthday sentiment in versamark then put a silver pearl embossing powder over it.  Since I don’t have one of those fancy inverted corner rounders, I used my circle punch to take out the corners on the layer with the sentiment.  I put crystal rhinestones in the corners.  I’ve been wanting to use these chip board letters that I got from the dollar store a long time ago but just couldn’t find the perfect card to use them.  Until I made this card that is!  I absolutely love the sparkle on it.  Before I added the sentiment layer and the green strip, I added a little bit of blue grosgrain ribbon that I had and tied it in a simple knot.  Here’s a closeup of the chipboard:

Recipe: 

Stamps:  Delight in Life, birthday stamp from a dollar store
Paper:  Wild wasabi, Purely pomegranate, Whisper white, Designer paper form Michael’s
Ink:  Versamark
Accessories:  chipboard letter, silver pearl embossing powder, blue grosgrain ribbon, crystal rhinestones, circle punch

Leave a Reply

