March 5, 2008

Barrow Full of Love

Posted in Challenges, Just Because at 7:24 pm by happygiggles

I think until I discover my own niche, I’ll be doing a lot of challenges!  Hey, they keep me motivated.  I sort of feel as though I still need to find my own style.  I mean, should my signature cards be simplistic or opulent?  I think I’m leaning more towards the simplistic end of things.  After all I love simple things in my home.  Dishes, decorating, linens…etc.

This card was for the color challenge at SCS.  The colors we were to use were, Purely Pomegranate, Wild Wasabi, and So Saffron!  A beautiful combination in opinion.  So cheerful!  As much as I liked these colors, they gave me a bit of grief.  I just didn’t know how to pull them together.  After about an hour or so of staring at the colors together, I finally got inspiration.  The above card is what came out.  I really wanted to use the wheel barrow and pile of flowers from the Blooming with Love set so the layout had to work with that stamp!  I put a strip of chocolate brown satin ribbon accross the seam between the green and yellow cardstock.  I stamped the wheelbarrow in Chocolate chip ink then used my water color pencils again to color it in.  I added a touch of glitter to the red flowers. 

Recipe:

Stamps:  Blooming with Love
Paper: Purely pomegranate, Wild wasabi, So Saffron, white confetti paper
Inks:  Chocolate chip, Purely pomegranate
Accessories:  water color pencils, blender pen, Stampin’ Up glitter, scalloped scissors, bronze flower brads, brown satin ribbon (leftover from our wedding)

Leave a Reply

